Who we are

Edinburgh Neuroscience logo

We are a Communicating Collaborative Community


Edinburgh Neuroscience is a vibrant, interdisciplinary, and deeply collaborative cross-College community at the University of Edinburgh who work together with a shared vision to:

  • discover new knowledge of the workings of the brain and mind across the life-course, in health and disease,
  • translate this into individual and societal health and wealth gains.

We have over 500 fundamental, clinical and psychology researchers, based in over 200 research groups within a range of centres that work closely together, with clinical work being integrated across all areas. Edinburgh Neuroscience is widely recognised for its extensive integration of outstanding clinical, biomedical, informatics and psychology research. 


In the Research Excellence Framework 2014 Edinburgh Neuroscience was rated rated 3rd in the UK for Overall Research Power (THE, Dec15) which takes into account the breadth and quality of our research, it's societal impact and the quality of our research environment.  We work hard to provide a dynamic, supportive and creative environment for our researchers and this is reflected in a maximum 100% 4* (world-leading) score for our research environment.

Edinburgh Neuroscience Board

We are supported by the members of the Edinburgh Neuroscience Board:

  • Siddharthan Chandran (Director), MacDonald Professor of Neurology, Director, Centre for Cinical Brain Sciences; Dementia Research Institute at Edinburgh
  • Cathy Abbott, Professor of Mammalian Molecular Genetics, Institute for Genetics & Molecular Medicine
  • Catherina Becker, Professor of Neural Development and Regeneration, Deputy Co-Director, Centre for Discovery Brain Sciences
  • Peter Kind, Professor of Developmental Neuroscience, Director, Patrick Wild Centre; Director, Simons Initiative for the Developing Brain
  • Stephen Lawrie, Professor of Psychiatry and Neuro-Imaging, Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences
  • Andrew McIntosh, Professor of Biological Psychiatry, Head Psychiatry, Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences
  • Robert McIntosh, Professor of Experimental Neuropsychology, Psychology (temporary replacement for Professor Sharon Abraham, Psychology)
  • Dan Mirman,Senior Lecturer, Psychology (temporary replacement for Professor Martin Pickering)
  • Matthias Schwannauer, Professor of Clinical Psychology, Head of School of Health and Social Sciences; Clinical Psychology
  • Aziz Sheik, Professor of Primary Care Research and Development, Director, Usher Institute
  • Tara Spires-Jones, Professor of Neurodegeneration, Deputy Co-Director, Centre for Discovery Brain Sciences; Dementia Research Institute at Edinburgh
  • Joanna Wardlaw, Professor of Applied Neuroimaging, Director, Edinburgh Imaging; Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences; Dementia Research Institute at Edinburgh
  • David Wyllie Professor of Ion Channel Physiology & Pharmacology, Director, Centre for Discovery Brain Sciences